CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 09-27-2008, 10:08 AM   #1
Paul Kudela

Profile:
Back Squat form check

Comments? Suggestions?

Side view.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_vJBEYMlkk

Behind view.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLFY7vPmOQY
Old 09-27-2008, 07:27 PM   #2
Ahmed Darwish

Profile:
Re: Back Squat form check

I'm a beginner, so take my words with a grain of salt

Are both videos represent the same squat?

I have a feeling that the video taken from the side have severe lower back rounding. I can not see this kind of rounding in the second one.

You may also need to go a little deeper, you only go to parallel but not below.

I think trying to send your butt further back while getting down (and up!), and having a little box as a depth indicator will help. That's how I hopefully solved my similar issues.

Ooh .. criticizing another one's technique is much more easier than doing it right . Good Luck
Old 09-27-2008, 07:53 PM   #3
Juli Peterson

Profile:

Paul, I would advise watching some of Rip's video's on the Low Bar Back Squat.

Try to get a feel of correct hip drive (you're lifting with your chest), keep your knee's out-they're tracking in, etc. etc. etc.

Watch some of Rip's video's, and buy Starting Strength.
Good luck.

juli
Old 09-27-2008, 09:50 PM   #4
Robert Callahan

Profile:

a) Don't look at the mirror. Turn the pins around or look down at a point on the wall bellow the mirror.
b) You need about 2 or 3 inches more of depth to make those squats legal.
c) You could use some more hip drive, meaning drive up out of the hole with your butt.

Not to shabby though, keep up the good work!

-Robert

oh and this should probably be in digital coaching
Old 09-28-2008, 11:14 AM   #5
Andrew M. Smith

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Callahan View Post