CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 02-05-2014, 06:46 AM   #1
Shaun wiegert

Profile:
35 and high cholesterol

Hello fellow crossfitters. I am 35, 6'1" and 192 lbs at about 13% BF. I feel I am in decent shape...the best I have ever been personally. Anyhow I started lifting last june and crossfit in september. My progress has been amazing. I have worked my butt off and have eaten what I thought was fairly healthy. My diet has consisted mostly of chicken, eggs, salad and home cooked foods. Anyhow I had my annual check up this year and found that my cholesterol has gone up again. Part of me starting this health kick was my 128 LDL level. I wanted to get it back in check. As it turns out all of my efforts have landed me at 151 this year. I have done some research on cholesterol in foods and have found that meats are very high in cholesterol. hell a 3 oz serving of chicken breast grilled is 102mg. My doc wants me under 200 per day to get back in check then I can go back to a 300mg diet. So all of the eggs I have eaten over the last year has no doubt contributed to my problem as they have 167mg in a single large egg.

So does anybody have some advice for keeping my size while having a low cholesterol diet. How do I get my protien w/o taking a supplement? It could be that I have a genetic problem; however, I want to try to solve my problem without drugs.

Thanks for any advice. I really have no Idea how to get to where I need to go without living on salads. Problem is salad provides little protien.
Old 02-05-2014, 06:52 AM   #2
Jeff Enge

Profile:
Re: 35 and high cholesterol

What's the matter with a protein supplement?