CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 09-05-2013, 09:24 PM   #1
Lee Browning

Profile:
Isolation, when is it necessary?

I've been doing Crossfit workouts for seven months(five at Crossfit Polaris with Marcus Hendren) and we did multiple workouts in a day. I was without a doubt getting stronger, but I left to go back home and save money for equipment here. I do 5x3, then 5x8 at 75% for strength twice a week for squats, presses, once for deadlift then 3 or 4 metcons a week. My question is when should I isolate muscles such as shrugs(for traps) to help my power clean and snatch, and should I do this type of stuff along with my other strength to get me where I need to be? I just turned 19 in August and Id like to compete in the games by 2017...would appreciate any input, sorry so long, pm if you can help!
Old 09-05-2013, 10:13 PM   #2
Blaise Davis

Profile:
Re: Isolation, when is it necessary?

here is this for now maybe ill wait to put in my two cents before starting a new full on riot

WFS

http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=42094

plus glassman has some stuff on isolation in the crossfit journal just google search

Last edited by Blaise Davis : 09-05-2013 at 10:16 PM.
Old 09-06-2013, 02:07 AM   #3
Adam Carlson

Profile:

Isolation exercises have their place. The thing is to know why you're doing something. Wanting to build traps for size and strength is legit. I do neck harness work in order to strengthen a neck that has had injuries before.

Again, if you know the why of what you're doing, do it. Most of the things that you'll be doing in CF will be compound movements, which will strengthen your whole body. As you get stronger, you'll find areas where you are noticeably weaker, and you can put in the work to bring those areas up.
Old 09-06-2013, 06:29 AM   #4