CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Old 06-17-2009, 07:26 AM   #1
Francis Palattao

Profile:
Rx vs scaled down version of WODS

I might have a silly question. I have been doing crossfit for almost 6 months and really happy with the gains.

Question I have is which is better to do Rx wod but if I do it I have longer rest since I need it to recover more vs a scaled down version when you do it quicker and rest less and intensity is high.
Old 06-17-2009, 07:30 AM   #2
Jason David

Profile:
Re: Rx vs scaled down version of WODS

Make your best judgement. Generally speaking - workouts shouldn't be longer than 30 or 30 mins. Unless it's a 'Hero' workout. If you are taking an hour to complete a workout, scale it.

This is my opinion.
Old 06-17-2009, 08:18 AM   #3
Renee Lee

Profile:

My opinion is that you should scale the wods in order to complete them in "average time" of people performing them as rxed. go through the comments section of the wods, see the times that are being posted up, and gauge from there. (I think beyondthewhiteboard actually has bell graphs of each wod, not sure though)

So for fran, scale to a level where you think you can complete it within 5-8min. When you get to the faster end of that range, bump the weight up, rinse, repeat.

if you scale too much and finish in 3 min or something, then you'll know that you need more weight next time. etc.
Old 06-17-2009, 09:13 AM   #4
Sara Welch

Profile: