CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 12-07-2008, 09:09 AM   #1
Tish Traster

Profile:
OHS Help Please

Ok, as a trainer I know the answer to this question I think. Like I say to my clients when they ask, "How do I do more pull-ups?" My answer is simply, "Do more pull-ups!"

Anywho, my question is about my biggest goat, the OHS. Besides just doing more of them, are there any stretching or unweighted technique skills I can do to improve? I think ankle felxibility is one of my issues. I can get the weight over head, I just have problems getting my torso really erect and settling the weight on my heels.

I'll take a video and throw it up on the Digital Coacing thread. But, in the mean time, any tips?

in advance for your time. ~Tish
Old 12-07-2008, 10:35 AM   #2
Júlíus Magnússon

Profile:

Re: OHS Help Please

Work on your ankle flexibility. Get weightlifting shoes if you don't have them.
Old 12-07-2008, 11:33 AM   #3
Robert Callahan

Profile:

Shoulder dislocates were the key for me getting Over Head Squats. This is the stretch where you grab a dowel and a pretty wide grip and let it hang in front of your body. Then keeping your elbows locked pass it over your head and behind your body and then back again so it ends back in front. Then narrow the grip ever so slightly and repeat.

This is irreplaceable for shoulder flexibility, which is key for the OHS. Even if you think your shoulders are good I would recommend doing this a little just to be sure

-Robert
Old 12-07-2008, 05:46 PM   #4
Tish Traster

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Callahan View Post