CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 05-11-2009, 05:06 PM   #1
David S Shiroma

Profile:
Hello to the CF community!

Hello CF community,

My name is David Shiroma, I am new to CF and I wanted to introduce myself to those who I will be getting advice and encouragement from.

A little history and goals:
I am 30yrs old, and recovering from a 3.5 year stint of couchpotatoing.
My goal is to get back into eating clean, and good physical shape.
Currently at 5'9, 200 lbs. My physical goal is to get to 175/180 but I'm not obsessed with the number but with overall physical performance(getting back to looking good won't hurt either )

A little disappointing to me is that before I did this to myself, I followed strict clean eating practices; I was in decent shape: did a middle-pack performance in an olympic length triathlon, could do a good number of pull ups(25 or so.. never really counted to remember) etc.
Now, I cannot do a single unassisted pull up.
A lot can un-happen in 3+ years.
The things I can't do any more are frustrating as all get-out.

About 3 months ago a big life change happened and I realized I was rather unhappy with my state of fitness.

I've altered my eating habits to get back to clean eating, exercise 4-5 times a week and have started CF.

I finally broke the 200lb barrier again; it feels great and I look forward to challenging myself on the WoDs so I can finally do them eventally as Rx'd.

I look forward to asking questions and keeping the community informed on my progress.

-Dave

(My apologies to the admins/mods if this is a double post, my browser glitched when I submitted)
Old 05-11-2009, 05:45 PM   #2
Kenneth A Hinz

Profile:
Re: Hello to the CF community!

Quote:
Originally Posted by David S Shiroma View Post
Hello CF community,