CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 12-11-2011, 12:20 PM   #1
Bryan Lloyd

Profile:
Question Tired!!!

Hello all,

I will get right to it. I have been actively Crossfitting for three years. I am a Level 1 certified 39yom 6ft 190lbs. I am a firefighter at a busy station and I never get good sleep at work. I am on a 24 on 48 off schedule. I have been noticing my energy level declining rapidly over the last year or so. I have tried everything in my power to bring my energy levels back up. I have dabbled with paleo/primal over the years and dove in two months ago after reading Mark Sissons book thinking maybe this would help with the energy. While I have dropped to 10% bf without dropping more than two or three pounds (bonus) I am still tired. I have had a full physical done with bloodwork and all and everything looks good. I used to work out at an affiliate but do to my schedule I have outfitted my fire station and now follow main site. Is their anyone out there who can give me some good advice or ideas. I currently tAke a multi, vitamin d and fish oil per Robb Wolfs calculator. Am I just getting old or what?
Old 12-11-2011, 12:43 PM   #2
Eric Montgomery

Profile:
Re: Tired!!!

Could be that you're not eating enough, could be too much volume without enough food/rest, or could just be not enough good sleep. Obviously shift sleep isn't ideal, but if you can try to make it in a completely dark and quiet room that would be helpful. Something like ZMA or Natural Calm may help with recovery and deeper sleep.

Or CF.com may not be the best option for you given your situation--something with less metcon volume and more strength work could be a good way to go.
Old 12-11-2011, 12:44 PM   #3
Mark E. Wallace

Profile:

My first thoughts: