CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 05-14-2016, 08:04 PM   #1
Michael Haning

Profile:
Always getting injured by deadlifting

Hi all! Would really love some feedback...

I've been doing CrossFit for over 8 years, and have been coaching and / or running an affiliate for about 6 years and have always struggled with deadlifting. Ever since starting CrossFit, I've been pretty good at it, especially the engine heavy met-cons like "Fran", "Helen", "Jackie", etc. even on workouts like "Diane" with 225# deadlifts, I can do them all unbroken. 2 years ago, I was doing a workout with 315# deadlifts and I herniated my L5/S1 disc. It was awful. A fews before surgery, it started getting better and over the next 5 months or so, I got back to 100%. I brought deadlifts back into my workouts slowly and steadily. About 2 months ago we had deadlifts programmed and felt really good and went to 295. (I'm 5' 10" and weigh 180# BTW). Again, something happened and I have been nursing a back injury for 2 months.

I'm CrossFit L-2 and can teach the deadlift very well, and form doesn't seem to be my problem. I know my limitations and would never pull with a rounded / overextended back. This last time I got hurt, I had two other coaches watching and videoing my deadlifts. There were no major mechanical errors. I felt fine after doing them, but about 24 hours later the pain started in.

I've never been able to deadlift over 375#.

Now, as I'm finally getting back to normal, I'd love some feedback on strengthening my deadlift. Had anylne dealt with this before? Are my hamstrings what need to be strengthened? My lower back? What accessory work should I be doing? (I have a GHD machine in my garage). Should I start on a very light and simple deadlifting program to build up slowly?

Thanks everyone!