CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 11-02-2005, 07:54 AM   #1
Michael Decerbo

Profile:
awhile back i started training front levers properly. i was doing them with bent arms and i was told it wasn't correct, so i went back to square one.

square one meaning: tuck lever, one-leg out lever then the finale of a full front lever, and this is where i'm stuck.

one-leg out, straight arms, i'm solid. i can get a solid hold with each leg, but when i try to do both legs, i can't even hold it for a solid second. at first i thought it was my hollow (the position when your push out the lower back so it's as flat as can be with the abs super tight), but i had friend check it out and he said everything looked good.

i don't think it's an ab problem (or it might be, that's why i'm asking), because i think my abs are strong enough. i'm doing 8 rep sets for dragon flags, i have 8 rep sets of full-body roll-outs on the ab wheel, yet i can't hold this darn lever. i can do a deadhang and lift my body into lever position for reps, but i CAN'T hold it there for the life of me.

i'm planche training on the parallets (also from square one, since my form sucked) and i'm up to holding an advanced tuck for about 7-10 seconds depending how fresh i am.

i'm also doing supplimental work on the rings, in the gym with free weights and some body weight work(hspu, l-sits, all the fun stuff).

i know it's tough to diagnose over the internet, but can you give me any tips on holding this darn lever? my planches are coming a long nicely, but this lever is killing me; i've been stuck at this spot for about a month now.