CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 09-29-2007, 03:50 PM   #1
Richard Furr

Profile:
Question Post workout crash! How important are post workout meals?

I just started really working out with the crossfit beginners program every weekday for the past 2 weeks.

I've been doing nearly perfect zone/paleo. I have been working out in the evening usually. After the workout I still have at least one more 5 block meal I need to get in. After every workout, about 1-2 hours after the work out. Right when I'm about to get around to fixing that meal. I crash and just fall asleep. It's not a very pleasant sleep either and I wake up at like 3 am starving.

I may have answered my own question looking back at the last two weeks that I need a post work out meal. I am new to this and never really considered PWO meals essential.

Do you think not eating a post workout meal is causing me to crash like this?
What are you guys' experience with the necessity of post workout meals?
If you don't think this is the cause of the crash, what is?

Can anyone explain why this is happening?

Thanks for your help.

Last edited by Richard Furr : 09-29-2007 at 04:04 PM.
Old 09-29-2007, 04:04 PM   #2
Brandon Oto

Profile:
Re: Post workout crash! How important are post workout meals?

Get enough sleep (8 hours bare minimum, 9 is good, 9.5 or so may be ideal).

Fast protein and carbs post-workout helps me. Whey and juice or fruit.

Contrast shower helps return me to the land of the human too.

Coffee helps, actually, but if you're working out late it may not be smart.
Old 09-29-2007, 04:41 PM   #3
Michael Polletta

Profile: