CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 12-23-2007, 09:40 PM   #1
Megan Greene

Profile:
ulnar nerve subluxation/snapping tricep?

When I do dips or triceps pushups, I have recently been feeling a popping/snapping in my left elbow on the way down, at about 130 degrees, at the cubital tunnel. I mentioned it to my PTist, who told me to stop when that happens. Ok, but how do I keep it from happening? It feels like a nerve subluxation or dislocation; it is a "twangy" feel, like hitting your funny bone. But I haven't gotten an official dx yet. Everything I could find online about ulnar nerve subluxation only listed surgery as a solution. I have strong forearms and grip from handstands and trapeze, and I've been working my extensors for a few months to try to balance things out, and in hopes that these muscles will help stabilize the nerve. But I don't know if they really do that. So far no improvement regarding my elbow.

Does anyone have any experiences with this?

(By way of background, my elbows hyperextend (and grind/click/mutter as they do it), my shoulders sublux, I've gone through three ACLs so far, I have snapping hips, and all in all my body does not seem to like to hold its joints together.)

Last edited by Megan Greene : 12-23-2007 at 09:46 PM. Reason: added more info
Old 12-24-2007, 07:03 AM   #2
Xavier Iturriagagoitia

Profile:
Re: ulnar nerve subluxation/snapping tricep?

I am having the same problem at the moment.
Keep you arm straight as often as possible (especially when sleeping). This relieved some pain for me. Next workout I will do shrugs and lateral raises instead of bench & overhead press (to not bend elbow too much).

Also the stretches on this site seem to help a bit: http://orthoinfo.aaos.org/topic.cfm?topic=A00069

But obviously the safest is to visit a doctor.