CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 03-17-2004, 05:58 AM   #1
Cross Bones

Profile:  
Hi all,
Newbie here, but been lifting for 2 years now. Been doing back squats the proper way according to most instructions in fitness mags and books(i.e. hips down parallel to floor), but start noticing some big athletes in my college gym dipping way down below parallel(like thighs pressed against calves.) question is, doesn't that put a lot of stress on the knees? I tried it myself with lesser weight than my max, keeping good form(eg no rounded back, knees not exceeding toes) and it feels ok. but won't stick to this form until I know the impact on the knee. yeah, I know, no bouncing.
thanks for any advice!
Old 03-17-2004, 07:26 AM   #2
Patrick Johnston

Profile:
Stopping at parallel is harder on the knee than going all the way down. I squat butt to heels without any knee problems and I've had three knee surgeries (prior to ever squatting). I also have a father who is an orthopedic surgeon who does CrossFit and rock bottom squats. In conclusion, get your butt down there and enjoy!
Old 03-17-2004, 09:14 AM   #3
Ben Gimball

Profile:

No one could not have stated it any better than Patrick!
Old 03-17-2004, 09:23 AM   #4
James Taft

Profile: