CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 06-22-2009, 08:30 PM   #1
Lachlan Tijsen

Profile:
Creatine question

I am new to CF and also a rookie when it comes to nutrition and supplements. After researching a little bit about Creatine, it says that it is generally used so that you are able to work out longer. As CF's workouts tend to be fairly short, is there any value in using Creatine?

Any help would be great. Sorry if this is a repeated question too!
Old 06-22-2009, 11:11 PM   #2
Dustin Lorance

Profile:
Re: Creatine question

Creatine in short helps supply energy to muscle.

-It is also responsible for improving performance in high-intensity exercise, increasing energy levels, and speeding up recovery rates.
-Creatine's ability to enhance energy reserves in muscles comes from its muscle protein synthesizing action, while minimizing protein breakdown. This occurs because creatine has the awesome effect of super-hydrating muscle cells with water. It enhances muscles' growth too-making muscle fibers bigger and stronger.

Creatine really isnt about length of workout...
Taking creatine for any explosive movement (olympic lifting!, lifting weights, plyometrics, sports) may have some good outcomes.
I used it during my days of wrestling and fighting.
It will also help with recovery

Its important to look up side-effects, although you are most likely fine is you dont have, or history of, kidney problems.
Also important to note that some people naturally have enough reserve of creatine in their skeletal muscle, these lucky people will not see any good or negative outcomes in taking creatine...

So inshort.
Helps get energy to muscles, especially with explosive movements which crossfit has many!
Good for recovery