CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 03-04-2008, 10:29 PM   #1
Howard Wilcox

Profile:
What to read, research, etc?

Hello folks,

As one of many people considering starting a crossfit, I have zero business experience (other than being at a large corporation). While I have some experience at stuff that would be relevant in that role (time management, effort projection, constructive confrontation, task prioritization, etc)...I have zero experience in larger business stuff (and I'm not even sure what that means?? budgeting, marketing, etc).

Those of you with a business background and/or who have an affiliate...what else should I look at?

I know priority number one is product knowledge and enthusiasm and that learning (and training) will continue. But what else? Stuff I probably haven't even thought about? What should I be reading? Books, webpages, etc??

I know that is broad but at this point, I feel so ignorant on stuff like that...and being an engineer, I'm a little too good at 'worst-case scenario analysis' and can scare myself out of it.

This is because I have no knowledge of business stuff.

So...
[Dr. Evil Voice]

I need the info...

[/Dr. Evil Voice]

Thanks,

howard
Old 03-05-2008, 07:34 AM   #2
Matt DeMinico

Profile:
Re: What to read, research, etc?

Well, one thing I can say for sure is right along the lines of what you said: Just cause a guy's a great plumber doesn't mean he'll be a good owner of a plumbing company. It's two completely different things, and they require different information.