CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Testimonials
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Testimonials CrossFit's successes / your achievements

Old 11-20-2007, 08:55 PM   #1
Jared Ashley

Profile:
The answer to "How fast will I see results"

Give it one month guys (and girls)... seriously, it will blow your mind!

Let me start by saying I am a rookie crossfitter (6 weeks) but NOT a rookie lifter. I've converted from 3 years of globogym-type training. The first year, I made huge gains with that, having never done anything prior. After that I've had to fight to stay motivated... gains slowed to a crawl, hence giving crossfit a try. So here's my story:

"Linda" was one of my first WOD's, and boy did she kick my a**. I'm about 137 lbs, and scaled to:

deadlift: 125 (did only 2 reps at 165, realized I needed to scale more)
bench: 115
clean: 65

Time: 31:35 - my back was shot, my legs were burning, my wrists hurt from bad form on cleans, I was breathing hard, and I really questioned if the program was for me, but I kept it up.

Repeated "Linda" today, 5 weeks later. I have done nothing but crossfit, mostly scaled, and admit I've missed 1 day a week or so.

deadlift: 170 (45 lb increase!!! Remember I couldn't even get through the first set at 165 last time)
bench: 137.5 (22.5 lb increase, and is as Rx'd!)
clean: 70 (could have done more, but still working on form)

Time: 35:50. Yeah, it's longer, but my back hurt LESS, my legs hurt LESS, my form on cleans still sucks but it's improving and my wrists don't hurt, and I didn't feel like I was sucking wind like the first time. Oh, and a lot of that extra time was taken up moving weights around... I only have 2 bars and had to change weights every set. first time only had to change weights for 2/3 of sets.