CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > CrossPit
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

CrossPit For discussing MMA, UFC, Pride fighting, and other martial arts

Old 09-27-2013, 11:26 AM   #1
Mike Short

Profile:
MMA Conditioning Program Help

Hey guys,
So I'm new to these forums, I've searched and I didn't see any other forums on this (or obviously I wouldn't be writing this one) but anyway, I'm looking for some help.
I'm an avid martial artist and I'm always looking for ways to improve my functionality and physical attributes. I do BJJ, Wrestling, and I am self trained Muay Thai (yes I know that doesn't necessarily mean much). I've been trying to investigate into using Crossfit to help my strength and conditioning, but there seems to be so much to sift through. I tried following main page WODs but wasn't sure as to how beneficial these were for something as intense as competitions. Anyway, I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction as to how to set up my S&C incorporating Crossfit. I have been debating doing the Starting Strength program followed by Wendler 5/3/1, but I'm looking at all my options and Crossfit is one of them.
Any advice, tips, anything?
Much appreciated,
Thanks in advance
Old 09-27-2013, 03:54 PM   #2
Colin McLafferty

Profile:
Re: MMA Conditioning Program Help

Hey Mike,

Some stats would help. Age, height, weight, competition background, and current program, for example. What are your squat, deadlift, press, bench, and power clean at?

If you've never done a linear progression strength program before, I recommend doing SS. Would you be willing to sacrifice conditioning for a few months and dedicate yourself only to strength training? If yes that would give you optimum strength results.

If no..