CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 10-10-2007, 11:43 AM   #1
Shane Bradbury

Profile:  
School or Experience?

Hey everyone I'm a 19 year old male, I'm relatively new to Crossfit (About 6 weeks), I've just started to perform the WOD to the best of my ability. I'm in college right now in Toronto for a Two year program called Fitness and Lifestyle management, to become a personal trainer. I applied for college before I found Crossfit (unfortunately )hoping it would help in my quest to become an amazing trainer. So far from what I have seen, from the second year students training methods, to the teaching approach and to the general idea of fitness from the first and second year students, is disapointing to say the least. I've not been taken seriously at all when I talk about Crossfit methods or ideas in our personal training class. My question is this, should I continue with this program until June 2009, and graduate with a dipolma? Or should I maybe dropout get Crossfit Certified ASAP, and start applying for training positions and jobs in my area? I've been working out for a long time and training friends in family, I'm involved in sports and I walk the walk when it comes to diet and training, I'm passionate and committed to real, serious fitness. My goal eventually would be to have my very own Crossfit gym, as I love the fitness and ideas behind Crossfit 100%. The thing is I can't see myself in two years saying 'Thank god I stayed in school.' Everyones opinion would be welcomed good or bad, thanks so much guys!
Old 10-10-2007, 12:15 PM   #2
Steven Low

Profile:
Re: School or Experience?

Read this (wfs) -- basically your question being answered by trainers:

http://www.performancemenu.com/forum...ead.php?t=1406
Old 10-10-2007, 06:39 PM   #3
Shane Bradbury

Profile: