CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 04-02-2009, 03:34 AM   #1
Jay Cohen

Profile:
The BBQ Thread

With summer around the corner, least here in the North East, I figured a BBQ thread would have merit as BBQ recipes were starting to “intrude” into the Bacon thread.

I’m not a BBQ expert by any shape of the imagination, but it has become one of my new favorite foods, or one of my favorite ways to prepare foods. I just ordered the Cookshack Amerique, which should be here in a few days.

Here is a the Wiki definition of BBQ:

Barbecue or barbeque (with abbreviations BBQ, Bar-B-Q and Bar-B-Que, diminutive form barbie, used chiefly in Australia & New Zealand, and called Braai in South Africa) is a method and apparatus for cooking food, often meat, with the heat and hot gases of a fire, smoking wood, or hot coals of charcoal and may include application of a marinade, spice rub, or basting sauce to the meat. The term as a noun can refer to the cooking apparatus itself, or to a party that includes such food. The term as an adjective can refer to foods cooked by this method. The term is also used as a verb for the act of cooking food in this manner. Barbecue is usually cooked in an outdoor environment heated by the smoke of wood or charcoal. Restaurant barbecue may be cooked in large brick or metal ovens specially designed for that purpose

So, please feel free to post any and all comments, recipes, and equipment concerning BBQ.

Here are a few links that I go to on a regular basis. Be warned, most have advertisements, and do take some navigation, but come on, it’s BBQ and we’re talking about kicking back, cooking long and slow, having some fun.

All links are W/F/S/

Garry’s BBQ Pit is a great place to start, many links to the classic BBQ sites.