CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 10-21-2008, 02:55 AM   #1
Jason Hogue

Profile:
Starting Strength or a Hybrid Program

I have been Crossfitting doing the WODs off the sight for about 5 months now and love it. I recently got my copy of Starting Strength in and am wanting to integrate SS into my schedule but can't decide exactly the best route for me to take. Whatever I do I will stat around the beginning of the year when I am home and can get on a stable diet to support heavy lifting.

I am about 5'8" and about 155 now with a body fat of about 10%. I would like the strength and mass gains available through doing SS for a few months, but I don't want to get away from my Cross Fit and Cardio Progress.

In my mind I have 3 viable options.
1. Continue Crossfit WODs and just clean my diet up and see how that goes for about 90 days.

2. Go completely starting strength to build strength and mass and go back to Crossfit after about 90 days.

3. Find some mix of SS and Crossfit that will keep my cardio up and still give my strength and mass a good boost.

Several people have recommended SS to me before to set myself up to get closer to doing RXed WODS in the future, so I am sure it is a good option for a while to get me stronger, but I want to continue progress in all areas of fitness. Will 90 days of straight SS actually hurt my performance in cardio and regular WODs when I get back into straight CF?

Thanks,
Jason
Old 10-21-2008, 05:21 AM   #2
Andrew Wilson

Profile:

Re: Starting Strength or a Hybrid Program

Have you tried a Heavy Fran 3 days a week?
Old 10-21-2008, 05:28 AM   #3
Wendy Shafranski

Profile:

Go for your option #3 (SS and Crossfit) AND clean up your diet. Don't get away from Crossfit! It should give you enough cardio. You can always add some running.