CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 09-16-2009, 08:21 PM   #1
Brian Farr

Profile:
Affiliate Not Programming Hard Enough?

I'm new to CrossFit, and I just started with an affiliate in my home town.

I'm m/22/74/188

I'm in the Army, and I've come from a long-distance running background with Army PT and amateur weightlifting thrown in.

I've wanted to start CrossFit for a long time, and I figured that working with an affiliate would be the best way to learn the movements, reduce injury, and join a community that was pushing for higher levels of fitness.

I'd done a few WODs off the main page on my own, and the intensity/way I felt afterwards was awesome. I thought that I was really on to something.

After the first few WODs with the new affiliate, I'm not getting those same kind of results. Thus, I'm wondering if the programming that my affiliate does is hard enough, and if not, what I can do to fix that.

I currently run about 20 miles per week divided into 5K and 10K distances with some interval training. I also play a wide variety of sports on a weekly basis.

Today's WOD:
Max Effort Box Jump
Followed by,
WOD:
30-20-10

KB Swings
Slam Ball
Box Jump

Yesterday's WOD:
Push Press
3-3-3-3-3

Then,
1000m row for time

I compare that to tomorrow's main page WOD with the pullups, run, and thruster, and the disparity is obvious.

I can usually complete the affiliate's WOD in about 5-10 minutes (I have the intensity down), and I leave about 30 minutes after I get there, not feeling like I really did enough.

Any advice you have (especially regarding speaking with the trainers) would be great.

Thanks
Old 09-16-2009, 08:26 PM   #2
Brett Dartt

Profile:
Re: Affiliate Not Programming Hard Enough?