CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 12-01-2007, 04:08 PM   #1
Joe Butler

Profile:
Power cage or not?

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie and am just starting to build a home gym-so far just a 300 lb oly weight set. Here's my dilemma. I live in an apartment (ground floor fortunately) and my gym will be the spare bedroom, which is 10 by 12 feet. I'm thinking that a power cage will give me the versatility and safety I need as I train alone and my 109 lb wife can't spot for me. I figure I can do pullups and dips on one and even hang rings from them, and maybe rig up a way to do GHD situps and back extensions on it. I'm looking for some input on this, so any suggestions or ideas would be great.

Thanks
Joe B
Old 12-01-2007, 04:20 PM   #2
John Seiler

Profile:
Re: Power cage or not?

To me, the ability to do pullups and hang rings put the power rack in front. In a garage you might be better with squats stands and a spotting system (e.g. sawhorses) because you can hang things from the ceiling AND you save floor space. Usually hard to find a landlord that's cool with hanging rings in a apartment.
Old 12-01-2007, 05:35 PM   #3
David Sailor

Profile:

Joe,

My basement gym is about the same size and the power rack is the only piece of equipment in there. I have probably done 10,000 pullups on that thing not to mention using it for squatting and hanging rings from. I lift by myself and it's indespensible.

I have another area adjacent to this room that holds a treadmill, ghd, plyo boxes and misc stuff. If it wasn't for that space, I'd have built a platform on the rack for the ghd you mentioned.
Old 12-01-2007, 06:00 PM   #4
Thomas Covington

Profile: