CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 12-08-2005, 12:19 PM   #1
John Walsh

Profile:
I started training in my garage gym 3 years ago. Even though I trained in gym for over 2 decades it’s hard to imagine training in a commercial gym on a regular basis. Not that there is anything wrong with gyms. There are some really good gyms. I just like the freedom of training any way I want whenever I want. Over the summer I got tired of even being confined to the garage gym and have brought my workouts outdoors as often as possible. It’s cold here in Boston this time of year but this evening I will be at the field at Garvey Park tossing around my kettlebell that I got for my B-day last week.

My garage is not heated by it shields me from the wind when it’s cold. One thing I found is that I feel much better after training in the sunshine. So on a sunny but cold day like today I’ll opt for the outdoors. Are there other extreme weather trainers like me out there? Sorry but 55 degrees in Santa Cruz doesn’t count as extreme.

Also are there any disadvantages or advantages health wise from training outdoors even in extremes? I have noticed that the few times a year that I do train in a climate controlled gym I seem to perform much better.
Old 12-08-2005, 12:36 PM   #2
Bart Jones

Profile:

When I first got here in Iraq, it was extremely hot and we did exercise outdoors, and like you I found that I perform better in a climate controlled environment. However, I felt a lot worse when I used to run outside in Mississippi. It was just a different kind of hot, extremely humid. I don't know if there advantegous or not.
What part of Boston are you in? I'm originally from West Roxbury.
Old 12-08-2005, 12:48 PM   #3
John Walsh

Profile:
Bart,