CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 01-26-2012, 07:53 AM   #1
Evan Peikon

Profile:
extra work capacity work

Ive heard a lot of athletes do a 2k-5k row daily at a low intensity (some sprint pieces iced in to occasionally) to get some blood flowing/ get some extra work capacity work.

i was wondering if anyone currently does this, if you've gotten benefit from it etc.

I'm currently following opt style affiliate programing, and my recovery, sleep, and nutrition are on point. That being said, i know i can handle more work without overtraining and being that I'm a full time student i have gaps in my day where id be able to get a rowing session at the school gym.

so i wated to know if this would be a good plan
7:00am wod (only time i can get to affiliate)
3:30pm - rowing
Old 01-26-2012, 09:13 AM   #2
Paulo Santos

Profile:
Re: extra work capacity work

As long as it is as a nice easy pace, you are fine and won't overtrain.
Old 01-26-2012, 09:31 AM   #3
Shawn M Wilson

Profile:

I've added rowing as a variant to the easy jog

I enjoy it, feel refreshed after and notice overall improvement in my recovery

That said 5 days a week of 5k wouldn't be good though unless I really took it easy 2:30 pace vs 2:10 or so. Did one last night and have noticed I'm pulling better and with alot more ease. So time is improving on my 'easy' row which makes me wonder how my hard workout would be
Old 01-26-2012, 10:09 AM   #4
Tommy Sittinger

Profile: