CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 05-15-2015, 10:12 AM   #1
Dan Schaal

Profile:
Repetitive Stress Injuries

Hello,

I want to start this my telling everyone I am an avid crossfitter who absolutely loves it. I have been doing it since 2008 (save 2009, as I took a break while playing on two hockey teams). Also, I am 42 years old (though I don't feel like it).

About 10 months ago, I started doing personal workouts prescibed by my CF trainer. Around late fall, I started getting pains in my left wrist and left shoulder. They were manageable, but go increasingly painful.

On 2/28, I tweaked my back doing DL in one of my wods. I decided to shut it down and have a chiro work on my back (as this has also been a recurring problem). It turned out that I have scoliosis (did not see that one coming).

Along with work on my back, he also has been doing work on my shoulder. That did not improve as much as I would like. Two wks ago I broke down and went to the Ortho. She diagnosed it as bursitis (shoulder impingement) and gave me a cortizone shot. It feels good now (though that is likely the cortizone talking). Chiro stated to stay off it for another week or two and then start to do stretching with the the Ortho provided me and SLOWLY work in weights. I am ok with this as I am focused on getting this better.

One of the first things I read about bursitis/shoulder impingement, is that it is one of those things that rears its head in people over 40 and can be a result of reptitive stress. The issue with the wrist (likely ligament) is also a reslut of repetitve stress.