CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 11-08-2008, 03:13 PM   #1
Katie Jones

Profile:
Crossfit and Bulk

Hi guys,

I've been doing some CF for a few months, and loving it! I'm interested in getting more hardcore into it, but have some concerns.

I'm an equestrian vaulter. For those who don't know what it is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wFXq07Uh_Uc

I'm 5'3", somewhere around 145#. I've only recently been kicking a binge-eating problem. My coaches want me to start competing internationally soon, but they say (and I agree) I need to lose weight in order to make it. I'm interested in losing fat and gaining agility and power. However, since I have to wear spandex, be very supple and get lifted by other people, I don't want to put on a lot of bulk. Is it possible to reap the benefits of CF without gaining much muscle? Also, is paleo a good plan for my goals? I know a lot of you swear by zone, but I'm afraid being that anal will make me fall into my old bingeing ways...

Thanks for the help!

Last edited by Katie Jones : 11-08-2008 at 03:20 PM.
Old 11-09-2008, 01:10 AM   #2
Chris Robinson

Profile:
Re: Crossfit and Bulk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katie Jones View Post
Is it possible to reap the benefits of CF without gaining much muscle?
I think the real question you're asking is "Can I do CF without bulking up?" right? The answer to that is absolutely. You will get stronger and if you eat right (see below) you will lean out. If you check out the testimonial section you'll find some great threads (many with pictures) discussing the positive body changes women have seen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katie Jones View Post
Also, is paleo a good plan for my goals?
Yes. Paleo's primary concern is quality while the Zone's is quantity. Go with whatever you know you'll follow.