CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Old 07-26-2013, 05:08 PM   #1
Max Sawicky

Profile:
when to and when not to Scale?

is this a simple question? I'm unsure of when to scale weights for a WOD, and when I should keep them rx'd. im relatively new to crossfit (<6 months) and have seen pretty good progression. I try to do all the wods RX'd, but at what point should I be scaling the weights down? Is there a percentage I should look for, like the weights should be less than 80% of max or something like that?

for example in the work out from earlier this week

205 front squats, 20 reps
30 inch box jumps, 30 reps
55lb KB swings 40 reps
wall balls, 50 reps.

I did this work out RX'd and finished i 11:26. the front squats took me the longest as my 1 rep max is 235, and i had to break them down into sets of two by the time i had done 8 (5-3-2-2-2-3-2-1-) shouldn't hte point be to at least do sets of 5? hope my question makes sense.

5'7"/155lbs/28y

if i had dropped to 185lbs for the FS, or 155, i would have gained easily a min, if not two., but i don't feel thats comparative when scaling.

Last edited by Max Sawicky : 07-26-2013 at 05:11 PM.
Old 07-26-2013, 06:08 PM   #2
Nicole Ortiz

Profile:
Re: when to and when not to Scale?

If you can do them RX, then do them. If not, I scale to 75-80%.
Old 07-26-2013, 07:24 PM   #3
Cody Lichtenwalner

Profile: