CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 09-12-2012, 06:14 PM   #1
David M. Schroeck

Profile:
Bogus Crossfit

I'm writing because recently my community now has three "boxes" running. Two affiliates and one non-affiliate. The "non" is not advertising CrossFit, however it is obvious that is what they are selling.
I've been training CrossFit for about 5 years, not wholly, but at the same time I employ most of the facets in my isolation workouts as well. I'm not level certified but I have a background in collegiate rowing as well as high intensity training. I found CrossFit easy to understand, I enjoy the simplicity of the movements and the philosophy behind the regimen. I quickly started building a home box in order to simplify my workouts. Now we have 3 boxes in town. I have no problem with the affiliate ones, but the non-affiliate I struggle with.
I understand the concept of paying your way, and that all good things come with a cost. I don't understand why someone would take a system that is offered free and bastardize it to make a dollar. Sure I use it at home, but I understand the risks. I know when I need to scale, how much rest I need, and proper nutrition. Why would anyone trust a non-certified, non-affiliate with their health? To me these "nons" are posing a hazard to anyone they train. I just feel like a method and philosophy I've grown to love are just loosing ground by the minute due to misrepresentation and sloppy teaching. Any insights?
Old 09-12-2012, 07:26 PM   #2
John C Corona

Profile:
Re: Bogus Crossfit

Have you tried this non-affiliate out, first hand? If not, how do you know the quality of training? Do you think taking a level 1 cert and paying the affiliate fee makes you a good trainer? What do you struggle with exactly?