CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 10-19-2008, 12:30 PM   #1
Steve Forman

Profile:
Video Help

Hey guys, I am a trainer at a new affiliate (Morgan Hill Ca. ) and am running into video headaches. So please help me out.

1. what type of video camera do you use? does it use a specific file type?
2. what do you use to edit video?
3. whats the easiest (file type or program) to use and load say into a website, blog or you tube.

4. I am using pinnacle studio plus and how in the world do I place words in the actual video?

Any help or experience would be appreciated.

steve
Old 10-22-2008, 11:46 AM   #2
Ryan Marquart

Profile:
Re: Video Help

1. I use any variety of mini DV cameras. Anything by Canon is going to be pretty reliable. The hard disc recorder cameras don't stand up well to our Wisconsin winters, so I prefer mini DV tape.

I am using a PC, so AVI files work really well for me.

2. I use a program from NewTek called SpeedEdit to manipulate footage.
Everything comes in as an AVI file, once edited I can render out pretty much any kind of format.

3.For the web, mp4 is the way to go. File sizes are small, YouTube wants all video under 100mb total file size.
When rendering it is important to remember 2 things: Resolution and Bit rate.
Standard definition video is 720x480 resolution, cut that in half for the web.
Bit rate is also important when rendering for the web, usually I try and keep things under 1Mbps when rendering video for the web.

4. I am not familiar with Pinnicale, but there should be a way to put a title page or CG page (text) over the video. Try doing a help search in the program for title pages or text.

Sorry for the long post, hope this helps some.

Ryan
Old 10-22-2008, 01:42 PM   #3
James lee

Profile: