CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 03-12-2009, 07:07 AM   #1
Keith Armstrong

Profile:
Extra workout onto WOD

I am looking to drop from 200lbs to about 180-185 in one month. I am wondering if anyone think it is a bad idea to add 30 minutes of cardio to the WOD each day. I am a teacher so I was thinking about doing 30 minutes of an elliptical in the morning and then doing the WOD after school. I think I will drop more pounds. I am on the zone diet but don't weigh the food. Good idea?
Old 03-12-2009, 07:43 AM   #2
Shane Skowron

Profile:
Re: Extra workout onto WOD

Question, how long have you been doing the Crossfit WODs? And are you doing them at full weight/reps?

Personally I would not do an extra 30 minutes of cardio. I would do maybe 2-3 tabatas per week, either bike, row, or run. They are short but very potent in their energy expenditure.

There was a study done that suggests that intervals are more beneficial for fat loss. I tend to believe it.
Here's the link, wfs: http://www.exrx.net/FatLoss/HIITvsET.html
Old 03-12-2009, 08:41 AM   #3
John Edmondson

Profile:

Personally, I would get my diet totally dialed in before I added more work. You're on the Zone and that's great, but zoning without weighing and measuring with the goal to lose that much weight that quickly, is akin to trying to get stronger without knowing how much weight is on the bar. One man's opinion. Best of luck to you.
Old 03-12-2009, 01:05 PM   #4
Alex Europa

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Armstrong View Post
I am looking to drop from 200lbs to about 180-185 in one month.
Why the rush? Wedding? Cruise? Fight weigh-in?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Armstrong View Post