CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Testimonials
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Testimonials CrossFit's successes / your achievements

Old 01-28-2005, 03:28 PM   #1
Dan Silver

Profile:

I forget where, but a recent thread quoted some self-made fitness Guru as stating that Crossfit was no good for cops, citing that Crossfit is too "cardio" heavy and doesn't build the bulky muscle that cops need. Speaking as a cop I can say that this is, of course, rubbish.

Last night, while investigating a shooting incident in some of San Francisco's lovely housing projects (the 7.62 [AK] round struck a gas main causing evacuation), more gunshots rang out less that 100 yards away. Search to contact teams were immediatley formed and we began to search building to building for the shooter.

Now, having never been in combat I don't know what level of stress that puts on the body but I imagine it's quite extensive. In the urban police environment, deploying a long-gun and tactically moving from positions of cover looking for an armed man is a very stressfull and intense experience. The gravity of it only becomes apparent once the threat is over and the adrenaline wears off. Last night I nearly fell asleep in my chair while writing the report.

So, enough storytelling. Crossfit (and training) enabled me to keep my hands steady and my head clear. My heart-rate went from a long period of inactivity to, well, really fast. Many of my coworkers were huffing and puffing at the end of the search and seemed very uncomfortable. I worried that, if the search turned into a gunfight, that some of my coworkers may not have been operating at optimal ability after such an intense period of activity. Not to sound arrogant, but I felt prepared, fast and organized. I attribute that to the superior physical conditioning that Crossfit generates.