CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Testimonials
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Testimonials CrossFit's successes / your achievements

Old 07-04-2004, 07:26 AM   #1
Michael Halbfish

Profile:
Hi,

I have been doing Crossfit for a little over 2 years (with a few occasional long layoffs and missed workouts). During this time I've often wanted to give a testimonial and thank you to Coach and Lauren, but I've held off. I held off primarily for three reasons: 1) there are people with far greater athletic and fitness accomplishments than me providing testimonials (ie BJ Penn-UFC Champion, & Eva-olympic skiing medalist, Mark Twight-alpine climbing champ), 2) there are people far more knowledgeable about fitness (ie Robb Wolf, Michael Rutherford), and 3) I thought my testimonial would be somewhat duplicative of so many others.
Today, I decided to post. Like many Crossfitters I could write about physical progress. Some of the changes include:
1) Doing Crossfit has improved my appearance by making me significantly more muscular and leaner (this was a bonus and never one of my goals). While I don't have bodyweight or fat percentages, I've had to have my waist taken in while my shoulders have gotten to wide for my suits.
2) Doing Crossfit has made me a better athlete
3) Doing Crossfit has significantly increased both my strength and my endurance. This should be expected with certain exercises like pullups which are done frequently with Crossfit. However, I find that this happens with all exercises. For example, the last time I did a bench press, I beat my previous single rep PR by 20 lbs and I did it for 7 rounds of 5 reps mixed in with pullups between rounds).