CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 12-02-2010, 10:45 AM   #1
Devin Reed

Profile:
Pre-workout Nutrition and Energy/Performance Problems

I've been doing CrossFit for 8 months (give or take), and have tried to change my diet to meet the demands of the WODs. I've always had issues with pre-workout nutrition (i.e. even when I was just doing body building-style lifting), but it's really getting to be a problem at times.

I feel that I have to eat IMMEDIATELY before a workout, otherwise I feel drained, hungry, and I can't perform well at all. If I eat too much before, I'm sluggish and feel like puking due to the fullness. I almost killed myself today when I lost control of a barbell and almost dropped it on my head whilst doing thrusters. This is what I ate this morning:

- Greek Yogurt
- Spinach, onion, tomato, and tuna salad about 30minutes before the WOD

Normally I'll have a handful of roasted nuts while I'm walking to the gym, but today I was full enough that I didn't feel the need.

What am I doing wrong here?
Old 12-02-2010, 11:13 AM   #2
Katherine Derbyshire

Profile:
Re: Pre-workout Nutrition and Energy/Performance Problems

What does your diet look like overall? If your energy level is so poor that it's dangerous, there's more wrong than just pre-workout nutrition.

Katherine
Old 12-02-2010, 11:23 AM   #3
Devin Reed

Profile: