CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 07-08-2007, 10:45 PM   #1
Benjamin W Herbert

Profile:
A question for the floor:
Okay, we all know crossfit is a very demanding program, even for those of us who are seasoned athletes and bodybuilders. And as with any workout program, excessive exercise and muscle usage can lead to muscle plateau and/or injury. My question is...do people here take breaks after a while? I mean, I've been doing crossfit for a solid 3 months now (plus a year of solid workouts before that). My muscles are fine (I think) but I decided that I would take a week off and try to give my body a chance to make a full recovery. Is that too long or perhaps unnecessary? Would any veteran crossfiters care to comment from their own experiences? THX so much!
Old 07-09-2007, 12:59 AM   #2
Douglas W. Hathaway

Profile:
Benjamin,

Larry Lindenman is the go to guy for this. Search the message boards for rest and his name. He basically recommends a week off every three months if I'm not mistaken, along with some weeks of half intensity. Best to get it from the source though. After three months, you should be ready for a little rest. I know that I felt great after taking a week off crossfit to just do some active rest.
Old 07-09-2007, 05:39 AM   #3
Steven L Blondeau

Profile: