CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 05-27-2006, 02:28 PM   #1
Thomas Beasley

Profile:
i recently started playing around with my own home made equipement this week. i started off small with a 11kg medicine ball and 11kg snad bag. i now want to try to my hand at some pvc rings.

has anyone tried to close the rings together? everything i read had people leaving them open at the ends. my idea is to use a joint to close it up. has anyone tried this and if so how did the rings turn out.
Old 05-27-2006, 09:51 PM   #2
Jeff Dale

Profile:
Sounds a bit more difficult. It would be more esthetically appealing to the eye perhaps, but seems unnecessary.
Old 05-27-2006, 09:58 PM   #3
Tim McFarland

Profile:
I have webbing running through mine, which is tied off in the gap with a bowline knot; the other end of the webbing is long and I use it to hang the rings by. I could be wrong, but it seems like the webbing running through the rings helps a lot with added strength - after all, it's just PVC holding my big 225 lbs up. The webbing seems to distribute the stress over the entire ring, rather than focusing it at one point the way it would be if you did it the way you are proposing.
Old 05-28-2006, 05:24 AM   #4
James Falkner

Profile:
I wanted to glue the ends together too after heating the PVC but it's not gonna happen without really heating it up, almost to the point of melting (which you'd need if you are gonna weld the ends together) -- sounds dangerous as super-heated PVC gives off lots of poison.