CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > CrossPit
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

CrossPit For discussing MMA, UFC, Pride fighting, and other martial arts

Old 10-28-2006, 07:11 AM   #1
Elliot Royce

Profile:
Not sure this is the right place but I guess boxing counts as a martial art, no?

I started learning to box and am working towards sparring. Right now, I'm just focusing on offense and defense, etc. On the conditioning, my trainer has a basic boxing type workout but I'm thinking it might be better to sub the CF WODs. Or is there a CF-like workout that would be better than a basic boxing type workout?
Old 10-28-2006, 08:27 AM   #2
Keith Wittenstein

Profile:
I've got a few ideas for Tuesdays workout now. :-)
Old 10-28-2006, 06:16 PM   #3
Craig Uchimura

Profile:
You may want to check out Bas Rutten's audio workouts. Here are 2 min and 3 min boxing. 2/3 min thai boxing. 2/3 min all around. A partner workout. And a killer 28 min all around workout.

The boxing is just that, punch combos called out with 1 min rest between rounds for about 30 mins total. I think all of these can be done just shadow boxing or hitting the heavy bag.

Thai boxing adds knees into the mix.

All around workout adds sprawls.

28 min all around is a non-stop one including abs, push ups and jump tucks, etc.

Hope this helps.
Old 10-28-2006, 07:28 PM   #4
Garry Berryhill

Profile:
How many days a week are you doing gym work? Extra workouts are really dependent on your gym schedule. I always felt really stupid when I burned out my legs doing extra workouts on days before I was supposed to spar.

Ross Enamait's site (www.rossboxing.com) has a lot of good info, BTW.
Old 10-29-2006, 05:14 AM   #5
Elliot Royce

Profile:
Thanks for the advice. I assume I can just search on Bas Rutten to buy the workout.