CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Digital Coaching
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Digital Coaching Post pictures or movies for critique and coaching

Old 01-05-2011, 12:58 PM   #1
Jameson Detweiler

Profile:
Question Correcting an Air Squat

Hey everyone,

First post here, but I've been CrossFitting for over 6 months now, and I'm trying to start the year off with perfecting my form on all the basics.

I've started a routine that I plan on doing 4-5 times a week:
  • 20 air squats for form
  • 20 overhead squats for form
  • 20 air squats for time
  • 20 air squats with slightly wide stance & straight feet to focus on adductors (I'm noticing my right knee rolling in my heavier squats)

Here's a video of my air squat.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CRnESRRCxb0

I see a lot of problems, but I'd definitely like some outside input.
Old 01-05-2011, 02:07 PM   #2
Tamara Cohen

Profile:
Re: Correcting an Air Squat

Welcome.

Could people spend hours nitpicking on your form? Yes. Do I think it really matters? No. It's just an air squat. You're not going to end up with rhabdo or a SLAP tear or a bulging disk due to your current air squat form.

But, since you do care to improve, your stance is too wide on all of your squats. You're not getting parallel or past parallel on a lot of the reps. Don't look up at the ceiling. Just focus on shoving your knees out, and that will solve a lot of the problems that you think you have.

Try using a training bar for OHS. Doing OHS with PVC is pointless because it is difficult to feel where the bar is. Adding a little weight helps with that.