CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 06-11-2006, 07:45 AM   #1
Brian Haggerty

Profile:  
I have been doing CF for a few monthes now and love it. I am a coach of a varsity Boys lacrosse team and I want to begin utilizing CF for my players in hopes to improve their performance. I have a few questions for anyone out there.

1) Is it okay for HS age boys (14-18) to begin CF style workouts?

2) In no way am I comfortable in teaching anyone Oly lifts. Can I sub Oly lifts by using other movements? Would this still make CF as effective?

3) Has anyone trained a sports team using CF and how did the players respond? How well did their performace on the field imporve?(The last CF Journal answered my other 15 or so questions)

Thanks,
Old 06-11-2006, 09:01 AM   #2

Profile:

1) Yes. Mike Burgener, Dan John and I know several others do.

2) Yes - sub other movements for now while you're learning the O-lifts. Ultimately, you should definitely be using them, but I would say for lacrosse, your primary concern will be metabolic conditioning as opposed to super high level power development anyway.

3) John Vernon used to coach the CSU Chico men's soccer team and I know there are a number of others around here I can't think of. I know the Chico team ate it up.
Old 06-11-2006, 01:38 PM   #3
Neal Winkler

Profile:
Try subbing the dumbbell versions of the oly-lifts for the barbell versions. They're much more self-explanatory than the barbell version and kick still kick an equal amount of *** for conditioning.
Old 06-11-2006, 04:12 PM   #4
Garrett Smith

Profile: