CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 09-25-2010, 05:28 AM   #1
Ashley Rogers

Profile:
Running and Side Pain

What is the best was to prevent side pain while running?
Old 09-25-2010, 06:14 AM   #2
Steven Low

Profile:
Re: Running and Side Pain

Diaphragm breathing... which you should be doing
Old 09-26-2010, 04:31 PM   #3
S.S.

Profile:

And more running in general.
Old 09-27-2010, 06:44 PM   #4
James A Stevens

Profile:

I find breaking the rhythm of your breathing can help, maybe take a couple of slow deep breaths and then back to normal.

I have been running for around 4 years now and still occasionally get that pain but the above works every time.
Old 09-28-2010, 12:05 PM   #5
Willis Holder

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashley Rogers View Post
What is the best was to prevent side pain while running?
I'm not sure how to prevent it, but years ago, I got a tip from a friend on how to remedy the 'side pain'. He told me to keep running, but exhale only when my left foot lands until the pain goes away (I usually take a few strides per breath, so I don't think he meant every time the left foot lands).

I always get the side pain on my right side. I don't know whether or not the 'exhale when left foot lands' trick has anything to do with my left foot or if it simply works because it makes me focus on my breathing.

The reason why doesn't matter as much to me as the fact that this trick has always worked for me whenever I get the 'side pain' while running.
Old 09-28-2010, 07:17 PM   #6
Jesse Gray

Profile: