CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 02-14-2008, 01:40 PM   #1
Dan Hollingsworth

Profile:
Where's the rotation?

I have been doing the Crossfit thing for a couple of months now, and I love it. Have seen some good results, but seems like something is missing. All the exercises that i have done to date focus on only the sagittal plane. Where's all the transverse and frontal plane movements (ie rotation)? A lot of the activities that we do in daily life and in sport involve rotation, makes sense that we should be training in those planes also.

I just looked through all the exercise demos on the home page and didn't see anything outside of the sagittal plane. Am I missing it, or is it not there?
Old 02-14-2008, 01:45 PM   #2
Lenora Galitz-Pfeffer

Profile:
Re: Where's the rotation?

I'm sure the experts and gymnast type experts will be able to answer you regarding specific form on the exercizes. Here's my entry: Ring work, Rope climbing. I'm sure the list will grow.
Old 02-14-2008, 02:08 PM   #3
Howard Wilcox

Profile:

I think Laurie Bowler tries to emphasize this more, IIRC. She and her husband, Kurtis, run Rainier Crossfit. You might drop her a note and ask (if she doesn't chime in).

howard
Old 02-14-2008, 02:18 PM   #4
Alexander Kornishev

Profile:

Interesting question. The simplest example of a rotation like movement would be throwing something with one hand (grenade for ex.) It is definitely a functional movement. Will be interesting to hear the answer.
43/5'9"/180 SP: 195, BS: 425, DL: 500, Clean: 285, Jerk: 265, Snatch: 200, Fran: 2:19

Last edited by Alexander Kornishev : 02-14-2008 at 02:37 PM.
Old 02-14-2008, 02:23 PM   #5
Lenora Galitz-Pfeffer

Profile: