CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 07-24-2006, 05:20 PM   #1
Stacy Junio

Profile:  
Hi. I'm new to crossfit. I was introduced to the program by my personal trainer. Some of the posts I've read give me the impression that the crossfit style of training and training for endurance sports may conflict. Can anyone enlighten me on the best way to combine the two?
Old 07-24-2006, 06:16 PM   #2
Eugene R. Allen

Profile:
They conflict if you exclude your long work and continue to race at long distances. If you supplement your LSD work with CrossFit workouts you will become stronger and faster than you would without the CF workouts. Don't try and do a half or full Ironman with CF only training.

Exactly how you supplement your endurance work with the much more intense CF training will depend quite a bit on the type of racing you do. You said endurance but that is not specific enough. Are you a marathoner, triathlete, cyclist or what?

Old 07-25-2006, 06:22 AM   #3
Nicholas Burgett

Profile:
Stacy, first off, welcome! It's good to have some more endurance sport folks around here.

Second, listen to what Eugene has to say. He's the de facto expert here at mixing endurance training and CF work.