CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 12-08-2003, 07:10 AM   #1
Roy

Profile:

Barbell deadlifts literally screw up my back. I do them with perfect form and technique, and still, my back is in pain for days inhibiting any future workouts. My buddy who i graduated with was a wrestler and football player said the same thing, so he just never did them or replaced them with dumbell deadlifts.

Does a barbell deadlift benefit much more than a dumbell as far as power improvement goes for sports? I think the dumbell deadlift would help improve grip strength a little more since each forearm is isolated from the other. Not to mention, being able to keep your back straight all the way. Any thoughts?

Cheers

Roy
Old 12-08-2003, 08:24 AM   #2
Barry Cooper

Profile:
Roy,

Unless you have some sort of major back problem, you have got to be doing something wrong. Deadlifts are a very safe exercise. One big AHA for me was to arch my back at the very bottom,when I'm setting up. Sort of think flaring your butt at the guys playing for the other team (every gym has them). Keep your weight balanced evenly over both feet, and--most importantly--keep a solid contraction in your abs all the way through the movement. This is in all likelihood what you are not doing. The way I think of it is you are doing nothing other than bringing your hips to the bar, and the only way to do that is to stand up. If your stomach is loose, your hips won't move, and your swayback will win.

As far as barbell versus dumbell, if you're using the same weight, I would tend to think the dumbells are actually better. Dumbells are just much tougher to load. I tried getting a 150 lb. dumbell out of my gym rack once, and it wasn't pretty.
Old 12-08-2003, 02:33 PM   #3
Robert Wolf

Profile: