CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 01-16-2012, 04:39 PM   #1
Julian Venison

Profile:
Can't Get Double Unders

Hi,

I've been doing Crossfit for about 8 months and am enjoying it. My fitness level is increasing and I an enjoying the group dynamic.

Howeve, no matter what I do, I can't do a double-under. My single skipping is OK - I'm not a natural like some of the other people who I see in the gym who've obviously done boxing etc when they were younger but, as I said, I'm OK. But I can't even do one double-under. I've watched all of the videos on the web etc etc but no joy. I've been trying to observe what I'm doing wrong and it seems that when I whip my wrists to move the rope faster, my legs also try to skip faster - thereby preventing the double under happening, although I've tried to follow the guidelines in relation to jumping higher etc that I've seen on various places on the web.

Any thoughts on what I can do to make some progress? This is really starting to bug me now I think this is probably one of the most common issues with novice crossfitters so looking forward to getting some suggestions.

Thanks,
Julian.
Old 01-17-2012, 04:16 AM   #2
Graeme Moore

Profile:
Re: Can't Get Double Unders

So you can't even get a single double under? Or are you referring to linking them together?

Just doing single unders and throwing in the odd double under is generally the best way to start. Tbh, the vids on main page cover it pretty well and I'm not sure what you could try beyond those. I'd be interested to see what responses you get as I agree this tends to be a common goat.
Old 01-17-2012, 04:44 AM   #3
Julian Venison

Profile: