CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 08-27-2007, 03:46 PM   #1
Joel D Barnett

Profile:
Getting Wife on CF

Hello,

I have been Crossfitting for almost 4 months now. I believe I have finally convinced my wife to give it a go! I am so happy about it! Her initial reluctance has been due to the pullups and other things that she "can't do". I have given up my gym membership and I am dedicated to my home gym. However, she still goes and has access to a gravitron. For O-Lifts, I think I have her convinced to try it out with a dowel or broomstick or whatever (no weight).

I have talked to her a while in ways that (I think) make sense to her as a former competative swimmer. I planned on starting her on the BrandX modified WOD's. I review the FAQ's quite often. Is there anything else I should keep in mind in helping my wife get going? She is a wildlife biologist that spends quite a bit of time in the field walking streams, and we have a 16 month old.

Thanks in advance for any advice or feedback the community might have to offer!
Old 08-27-2007, 04:46 PM   #2
Derek Maffett

Profile:
Re: Getting Wife on CF

Let me echo someone else's advice and say don't push her into it too fast. Make the workouts harder over time and don't give her the full truckload of pain all at once. I am not talking about avoiding rhabdo here but rather about preparing her mentally for Crossfit.
Old 08-27-2007, 04:59 PM   #3
Milton Grasle

Profile: