CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 02-15-2010, 09:22 PM   #1
Celestino Santiago

Profile:
Barbells Drop or don't drop?

Hello all,
Im fairly new to CrossFit (Been doing it on my own for little over 1 yr) and would like to know...What if I found a good space to open up an affiliate and the landlord didnt allow the high dropping of the weights, but could deal with a few thump's here and there...should I take it or look elsewhere? I never really understood the dropping of the weights, I personally like to keep control of the weights at all time. Do you have to drop the weights in CrossFit?
Which brings me to my next question...If the weights arent being slammed onto the deck would I be able to get away with cheaper Bars (1000lb cap) or go with the official competition ones?
Thank you in advance to whoever helps out, I am in the process of trying to become an affiliate and have a crap load of questions.
Old 02-15-2010, 09:26 PM   #2
Jamie J. Skibicki

Profile:
Re: Barbells Drop or don't drop?

If you are doing maxes with the oly lifts, you will need to be able to drop weights. If you'll be dropping weights, I would suggest either an oly training bar or the hybrid bars (B&R bar and I"m sure there are others)
Old 02-16-2010, 04:10 AM   #3
Ahmik Jones

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Celestino Santiago View Post
Hello all,