CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 07-17-2008, 05:28 AM   #1
Nik Nichols

Profile:
rings and muscle ups

Ok, I have serched. i am new to crossfit and this board, so if i missed this question then please forgive me and direct me to a link please.

So I'm working on getting the muscle ups down. I have a few links to show me how and i am working on it(any more tips links pointers are GREATLY appreaciated)

My question is this.Do the rings make a difference? I dont have any and for right now until I get a pair I have loops tied in a fat rope. Yes laugh at the newbe, but it is all i have and I want to learn.

Thanks for any help.
Old 07-17-2008, 05:43 AM   #2
Casey Raiford

Profile:
Re: rings and muscle ups

I feel ya. I've been using some trailer park "rings" until now. By "rings" I mean two straight sections of PVC pipe hung from small cargo straps on my bar. More challenging that standard movements all the way around? Absolutely. I can do 25+ bar dips, but I've yet to hit a third of that on my "rings". Same ratio applies to pushups and just about everything else.

On the other hand...I got to actually use real rings Tuesday and can tell the difference. They're just better, in my personal opinion. You don't have to fight the equipment so much, changing height is a lot quicker and so on. Well worth the $70 or so that a set costs. I plan to get a real set soon.
Old 07-17-2008, 09:16 AM   #3
Nik Nichols

Profile:

Yea, having to fight the equipment speaks volums to me. I think i would be more confident knowing i have the equipment I should, then i would know if and where my skill is lacking.
Old 07-17-2008, 09:32 AM   #4
Jeff Bowser

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nik Nichols View Post