CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2008, 08:55 PM   #1
Jacob Magnan
Member Jacob Magnan is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chula Vista  CA
Posts: 48
Linda....1 bar?

tomorrows workout is linda and i need to have 3 bars to do it rx'd. problem is that i only have 1 bar. whats would be the best way to do this workout?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 08:58 PM   #2
Mark Reinke
Affiliate Mark Reinke is offline
 
Mark Reinke's Avatar
 
Profile:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: St. Charles  IL
Posts: 266
Re: Linda....1 bar?

You could scale to 1 bar for one movement and perform the remaining with an appropriately scaled DB load. Definitely a good way to optimize space and equipment issues!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 08:59 PM   #3
Shan Younker
Member Shan Younker is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford  OR
Posts: 9
Re: Linda....1 bar?

I usually do it with 1 bar and just move the bar between sets. The workout takes me about 40 minutes and switching the bar around doesn't affect my time by that much.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:00 PM   #4
Shawn Hultquist
Member Shawn Hultquist is offline
 
Shawn Hultquist's Avatar
 
Profile:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: St Johns  FL
Posts: 137
Re: Linda....1 bar?

your time will be slow but just knock it out. I had to do it like this once and it took longer but just do all 55 reps of DL then 55 reps of BP, then 55 reps of full squat cleans. Enjoy your hour long workout. I know I will.

Shawn
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:01 PM   #5
Jacob Magnan
Member Jacob Magnan is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chula Vista  CA
Posts: 48
Re: Linda....1 bar?

so you did all the dl's then all bp then cleans? you didnt switch like dl-bp-cln repeat...?

Last edited by Jacob Magnan : 03-02-2008 at 09:05 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:29 PM   #6
Patrick Donnelly
Banned Patrick Donnelly is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: College Park  MD
Posts: 1,162
Re: Linda....1 bar?

Re: Jacob
You could always try doing a different WOD. Either from the CrossFit archives, or I know a few others affiliates post good ones, like CrossFit Boston; of course, you can always make one up yourself. As long as you push yourself as hard as possible, it's really hard to make a bad one.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:54 PM   #7
Mark Reinke
Affiliate Mark Reinke is offline
 
Mark Reinke's Avatar
 
Profile:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: St. Charles  IL
Posts: 266
Re: Linda....1 bar?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob Magnan View Post
so you did all the dl's then all bp then cleans? you didnt switch like dl-bp-cln repeat...?
DL-BP-CLN then repeat down the ladder.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 10:08 PM   #8
John Biddle
Member John Biddle is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brisbane  QLD
Posts: 139
Re: Linda....1 bar?

I've done this with 2 bars in the past, one for bench and one for DL/Clean. At home, where I have one bar only, I would sub ring push ups with feet raised to the level of the rings, and with weight in a backpack, for the bench. I find that a harder exercise than BW bench anyway. To minimise the number of times you change weights over for the DL/Clean, alternate the order in which you do them. First round (10 reps), do the cleans first. Then (leaving the appropriate weight for the cleans on the bar) add extra DL weight on and do the first first round of them. Second round (9 reps) do DL first, remove extra DL weight, and do cleans. That way, you're only changing weight once per round, and possibly only adding on or taking off one or two plates per side (the appropriate weights for the cleans are on the "inside" closer to your hands, and so always stay on the bar throughout the workout). Also helps if you can put the bar on blocks such that the largest plates are just off the ground, to make taking on and off quicker.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 11:24 PM   #9
Ariff Saufi
Member Ariff Saufi is offline
 
Ariff Saufi's Avatar
 
Profile:
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Selangor  Malaysia
Posts: 270
Re: Linda....1 bar?

just wanna check, for Linda is it required for a full Squat Cleans? or power cleans would do?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 11:33 PM   #10
Derek Maffett
Member Derek Maffett is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Castle Rock  WA
Posts: 3,544
Re: Linda....1 bar?

Aieeeeee! Do it one way or the other but I say do squat cleans. Now I have to run before Grace is mentioned.

Oh no, I just mentioned it! We're all doomed!
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linda F***'ed me up Anthony Militello Workout of the Day 4 11-16-2007 06:50 PM
Linda rob garza Workout of the Day 5 11-14-2007 05:07 PM
Linda George Zegas Workout of the Day 2 09-17-2007 07:29 AM
Linda Michael J. Joyce Testimonials 3 05-18-2006 09:45 PM
Linda Patrick Datoc Workout of the Day 5 04-13-2006 11:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit Inc.