CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 12-22-2006, 11:20 AM   #1
Brad Davis

Profile:
OK, I'm just about ready to give up. While I've made great gains in many areas, I just can't seem to stay healthy. I've been doing this for 2 months now and I've already:

Week 1: Strained my left spinal erector
Week 4: Spasmed/strained a hamstring while running 800m
Week 7: Shoulder injury trying to learn to kip
Week 8: Middle back spasm while Christmas shopping today. Did the Pack version of Michael last night.

I've scaled the workouts, have good form, etc. CF at this point feels like a minefield loaded with mines for me to step on. I've worked out for 24 years and have probably hurt more things in the last 2 months than the other 24 years combined. I'm either too weak or stupid to navigate a program like CF successfully.

Somebody please tell me that it gets better.

Talk me back from the edge please!

DBD
Old 12-22-2006, 01:42 PM   #2
Roger Harrell

Profile:
What is your training background? I don't know your history but I would guess your training background was not complex movements and your body is possibly just not prepared for these movements yet. Start very slow. It's good to push, but the scaling up must be gradual. It's very easy to go a bit overboard when starting CF.
Old 12-22-2006, 01:57 PM   #3
Brad Davis

Profile:
Roger: