CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 05-08-2009, 02:30 PM   #1
Jamie Sutton

Profile:
How Important is Appearance in Training

I am wondering how important you all think that personal appearance is in marketing personal training and in being a successful coach. The reason I ask is that I am getting my CPT certifications and my degree in Sports Medicine, and hoping this summer to go to a Crossfit Level I cert.

I have respectable to good times on all the benchmark workouts, I exercise and train 20-30 hours a week and I have a 17 percent body fat, not the best but I am working hard on it and it is coming down.

The problem is that I'm 5 foot 6 and 198 lbs. I've always been really heavy and stocky (before I started training I was 242) and at 17 percent unless I lose a good deal of muscle, I'm never exactly going to be sleek or skinny.

Two people today, whom I trust and are themselves personal trainers, have told me that I might have a very difficult time because of my short and stocky appearance, and that even though they might be wrong, a wide market of people simply won't pay for personal training from someone who looks thick and wide, regardless of what their Fran time might be.

Any opinions? I understand that good coaching, quality instruction, and a love of fitness is very important. But realistically in marketing, appearance sells and some people do judge books by their cover.
Old 05-08-2009, 03:48 PM   #2
Kris Murphy

Profile:
Re: How Important is Appearance in Training

Well, judging by most of the trainers at the Globo gyms I'd say you have nothing to worry about. Though I wouldn't let a single one of them train me based simply on the fact that it looks like the only time they spend in a gym is when they're working.