CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 10-26-2015, 07:14 AM   #1
David Barnes Langston Jr

Profile:
knee stability

I'm 48 and I've been crossfitting for 3 years and I have crunchy knees. They sound awful but they don't hurt that much except for some jumpers knee in the left knee. Sometimes I have problems with knee stability. I just can't seem to stay still on the way down and on the way back up and it feels like I'm gonna fall. I think it happens more when I don't warm up enough. I was trying to do some squats last night (actually the Wendler deload) and I simply couldn't do it. Backed off, did some air squats (which were hard) and it still didn't work out so I dropped it. When I go to the box and get the prescribed warm up I don't have this problem. I figured as long as I was wearing my Rehband knee sleeves I should be okay, and I had them on 30 minutes prior to lifting. So is not physically warming up the problem?
Old 11-11-2015, 03:13 PM   #2
Chris Sinagoga

Profile:
Re: knee stability

David, do you have any video of yourself lifting?

You might be missing some internal hip rotation. Look for the hip capsule mobility on Kelly Starett's MobilityWOD. It's a good place to start mobility-wise. Your gym's warmup probably hits those positions that you miss when you don't warm up.

As far as the movement goes, it sounds like you have a midline stability problem. Try this test out: can you do a super-slow, strict knees to elbows? If not, you are missing the midline strength to support pulling. Carl Paoli has a lot of great fixes for this.
Old 11-22-2015, 11:46 PM   #3
Jon Hanover

Profile:

Good advice above.

After you fix this problem, I'd probably do some 1 legged goblet squats. They helped a ton with my knee stability.
Old 11-23-2015, 02:44 AM   #4
Alex Burden

Profile: