CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 03-12-2013, 09:01 AM   #1
Andrew Joseph

Profile:
What is a typical front squat to back squat ratio?

I've done back squats for years but I've never done front squats before joining Crossfit. Obviously there is a bit of awkwardness in my technique to overcome but, assuming I get that down, what types of weight should I start training with and what is a typical 1RM for front squats if a 1RM for back squats is around 315?
Old 03-12-2013, 09:03 AM   #2
Jeff Enge

Profile:
Re: What is a typical front squat to back squat ratio?

Do you back squat high bar or low bar? High bar recruits muscle groups very similar to the front squat, while low bar is more hammy-driven. This could make a big difference for what you ratio is, and even how much correlation actually exists.
Old 03-12-2013, 09:46 AM   #3
Kid Jansen

Profile:

Like Jeff said it depends a lot on whether you do high bar or low bar back squats.

My personal bests are 117.5 kg front squat and 150 kg high bar back squat, which gives a ratio of 0.78 : 1.

But even though I do high bar I still do my back squat quite hamstring driven rather than quad driven. I bend over more than most people doing high bar, especially on the way back up. Might be because I go ATG.

With a good quad driven front squat you should be able to hit 85% of your high bar back squat, maybe even 90% if you do a lot of olympic lifting.
Old 03-12-2013, 10:00 AM   #4
Clint Harris

Profile: